Class action settlement
Rapid Investments, Axiom Bank $4.2M Release Card Settlement
Individuals who received a release card between Jan. 16, 2024, and June 30, 2026, may be eligible to claim $15 plus other benefits from a class action.
Who qualifies and how to claim
Rapid Investments, Axiom Bank $4.2M Release Card Settlement
Update: The claim deadline has been extended to Jan. 31, 2027. The settlement was granted final approval on Oct. 19, 2026.
Individuals who received a prepaid debit card, often referred to as a release card, when a jail, correctional facility, detention center or other law enforcement facility released them between Jan. 16, 2024, and June 30, 2026, may be eligible to claim at least $15, plus additional compensation, from a class action settlement .
Rapid Financial Solutions and Release Pay and Axiom Bank NA agreed to pay $4.2 million to settle a class action lawsuit. The lawsuit alleges these companies issued release cards with fees to individuals upon release from custody instead of returning funds by cash or check, violating federal and Washington state law.
Who can file a claim?
Individuals are considered class members if:
- Law enforcement took them into custody at a jail, correctional facility, detention center or any other law enforcement facility in the United States.
- They were entitled to the return of money that was either confiscated from them or left in their inmate accounts at the time of release.
- Rapid Financial Solutions and/or Axiom Bank issued them a prepaid debit card between Jan. 16, 2024, and June 30, 2026.
There are two groups within the class:
- Nationwide class : All eligible individuals across the United States who meet the above criteria
- Washington subclass : All eligible individuals eleased from a facility located in Washington state who meet the same criteria
How much can class members get?
Each class member who submits a valid claim is entitled to a minimum payment of $15 plus three times the total fees incurred on their release card.
How to claim a class action
To receive compensation, class members can file a claim online . Class members may also file a claim by emailing or calling the settlement administrator and providing their name, address and the state and facility where they received the card.
Settlement administrator's mailing address: Hall Release Card Settlement, c/o Kroll Settlement Administration LLC, P.O. Box 225391, New York, NY 10150-5391
Settlement administrator's email address: releasecard@sylaw.com
Settlement administrator's phone number: 833-930-0165
The claim deadline is Jan. 31, 2027.
Required documentation
Claimants filing online must provide the claim number they received in their settlement notice.
Payout options
The settlement does not specify payment options.
$4.2 million settlement fund breakdown
The $4,200,00 settlement fund will cover:
- Settlement administration costs : Amount not specified
- Attorneys' fees : Up to $1,260,000
- Attorneys' expenses : Amount not specified
- Service award to class representative : $15,000
- Payments to eligible class members : The remainder of the fund
The settlement administrator will distribute any leftover funds after it pays all claims to the Human Rights Defense Center and Public Justice.
Important dates
- Deadline to opt out : Oct. 2, 2026
- Fairness hearing : Oct. 19, 2026
- Deadline to file a claim : Jan. 31, 2026
When is the Hall release card settlement payout date?
The settlement administrator will issue payments after the court grants final approval of the settlement and claim processing is complete.
Why is there a class action settlement?
The class action lawsuit claimed individuals released from custody received prepaid debit cards with fees instead of getting their money by cash or check. The lawsuit alleged this practice violated the federal Electronic Fund Transfer Act and Washington state law, including the Washington Consumer Protection Act.
The defendants deny any wrongdoing but agreed to settle to avoid the cost and uncertainty of further litigation.
- Preliminary approval order
Settlement Open for Claims
$15 plus three times the fees incurred on release card(s)
Where this case stands
Claims are open until Jan 5, 2027, 70 days left. The court granted final approval on Oct 19, 2026; payments follow once any appeals are resolved.
- Preliminary approval grantedbefore notices went out; date not on record date not on record
- Deadline to opt out
- Final approval hearing held
- Final approval granted
- Todayclaims open, 70 days left
- Claim deadline70 days left
- PaymentsThe settlement administrator will issue payments after the court grants final approval of the settlement and claim processing is complete to come
Dates come from the court's public docket through the free RECAP archive, the official settlement site and the summary above. Stages still ahead are what usually follows, not promises. Nothing here is legal advice.
Documents & history
What has happened
- Claim deadline Deadline · upcoming
- Final approval hearing Hearing
- Final approval granted Final approval
- Deadline to opt out Deadline
- Claim deadline Deadline
Court filings come from the court's public docket through the free RECAP archive; official documents from the settlement administrator's own site. Other dates come from the official settlement site and the summary above. Nothing here is legal advice.
Where this information comes from
- Official settlement websiteforms.ksacms.com